Watch the Glenfiddich Fiddle Championship 2016 live

For the first time ever, we are pleased to bring you the Glenfiddich Fiddle Championship, in association with Blair Castle and the William Grant Foundation.

TRADtv was at the Glenfiddich Fiddle Championship on 30 October 2016 where the prestigious event welcomed back former Glenfiddich Champions to celebrate the wonderful tradition of Scottish fiddle music and the talents of its best contemporary performers.

After 27 years of the Glenfiddich Fiddle Championship, from next year the William Grant Foundation will take its investment in this aspect of Scottish music in a different direction.

But before they do, and to celebrate the long history of this very special competition, they held one final and unmissable event.

In its twenty-six years, twenty of the best exponents of Scottish fiddle have been crowned Glenfiddich Champion, including four from the United States. Instead of a final competition, this year’s event was a unique celebration of the history of the Championship. All former Glenfiddich Champions were invited to attend. The competition is delighted to confirm that the musicians listed below – including nineteen former Champions – performed in this year’s showcase celebration event.

Join us at 2pm on Sunday 6 November (one week after the event happens live to give us time to process the videos and agree permissions with the performers) in Blair Castle, Blair Atholl, Perthshire for what promises to be a fitting finale for the Glenfiddich Fiddle Championship.

For more information about how it continues to invest in organisations and activities promoting Scotland’s distinctive culture and heritage, visit the William Grant Foundation website.

The fiddle players who will perform at this year’s event are:

Maureen Turnbull, Kathryn Nicoll, Keith Anderson, Paul Anderson, Russell Kostulin, Gillian Risi, Stephen Cordiner, Ross Thomson, Sarah Naylor, Gemma Donald, Calum Pasqua, Raemond Jappy, Rebecca Lomnicky, Nicola Auchnie, Maggie Adamson, Maura Shawn Scanlin, Mari Black, George Davidson and Tim Macdonald.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

View previous campaigns.